Committees and Leadership

Bylaws >

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee oversees the work of the Prevention Alliance. Standing committees include the Policy Committee and the Education Committee. The Steering Committee consists of the Director, Chair, Vice-Chair, Policy Committee Chair and Vice-Chair and Education Committee Chair and Vice-Chair, a representative of the Santa Fe County DWI Program, and up to three at-large members.

Jennifer Romero – Prevention Alliance Chair

Photo Jennifer Romero 144 x 192Jennifer Romero has been working with high risk youth through the Santa Fe County Teen Court Program since January 2007 and currently serves as the Teen Court Program Manager. She became a Prevention Alliance Steering Committee member in 2012 and serves on all the Alliance committees. Jennifer holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology and Sociology from the University of New Mexico and Masters of Social Work in Clinical Therapy from New Mexico Highlands University. She holds a Senior Prevention Specialist Certification. In addition to serving on several community boards, Jennifer also assists in organizing and developing many community wide initiatives. Jennifer enjoys working with the community to maximize the quality of life for those who reside and visit Santa Fe.

Alfred Walker- Prevention Alliance Vice-Chair

Photo Alfred Walker 144 x 192R. Alfred Walker received both his Bachelor’s and law degrees from the University of Illinois. He was admitted to practice in New Mexico in 1989 and practiced civil law in Albuquerque for 14 years. In 2003, Alfred became felony prosecutor, first in Cibola County and then in McKinley County.  Alfred joined the City of Santa Fe as Assistant City Attorney in 2006 and previously worked as the City’s prosecutor and code enforcement attorney. He now enforces the City’s vehicle forfeiture ordinance and other ordinances in the District Court. He joined the Alliance in November 2007 and currently serves as the Policy Committee Chair.

Ramona Flores-Lopez – Prevention Alliance Chair-Emeritus

Photo Ramona Flores Lopez 144 x 192Ramona Flores-Lopez joined the Prevention Alliance in 2009.  Ramona has over thirty years of experience in health care including comprehensive health planning; health care financing, and health program administration.  Ramona has a Bachelor of Arts degree and MS degree from the State University of New York at Stony Brook.  Ramona has an extensive history of working on programs that promote the health and development of youth.


Education Committee

The purpose of the Education Committee is to address community norms through projects and campaigns aimed at parents, health care providers, faith leaders, retailers, and other community members/organizations who impact youth decision-making and behaviors regarding alcohol and other drug use.

Erica Abeyta – Education Committee Chair

Chanelle Delgado – Education Committee Vice-Chair

Policy Committee

The purpose of the Policy Committee is to develop and implement evidence-based strategies aimed at changing the environment in which youth substance use occurs. Such strategies include but are not limited to advocacy for related policy or rule adoption, changing the built environment, incentives or disincentives, and increasing access or reducing barriers. Strengthening enforcement of related laws and rules is an important part of the Committee’s role.

Desiree Valdez- Policy Committee Chair

Stanford Kemp – Policy Committee Vice-Chair

Santa Fe Opiate Safe (SOS)

The purpose of SOS is to develop and implement evidence-based and promising strategies to develop and implement comprehensive strategies to address the opiate crisis in Santa Fe County.  Committee members work to deepen their understanding of local conditions contributing to this crisis, examining and collecting data and applying diverse perspectives to understanding the trends.   Based on this understanding, SOS is developing strategies to increase access to quality treatment for opiate addiction, to prevent opiate overdoses through increased access to Narcan and to improve pain management practices.  This work receives significant financial support from Santa Fe County Community Services Department.

Jennifer Manzanares, Opiate Policy Coordinator